Editorial Review Group Chair: Rick Kellerman, MD 
Editorial Review Group Chair
No Comments on Editorial Review Group Chair: Rick Kellerman, MD  39

Dr. Kellerman has been the Editorial Review Group Chair for Primary Care and Family Medicine since October 2021. Since then, Dr. Kellerman’s group has reviewed 42 titles in those specialties. 

Dr. Kellerman oversees family medicine education for medical students, postgraduate activities, and the KUSM-Wichita sponsored family medicine residency programs at Ascension Via Christi, Smoky Hill-Salina, and Wesley Medical Center. 

Dr. Kellerman is a past president of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) and served as chair of the AAFP Board of Directors. He was a member of the Institute of Medicine Global Forum on Innovation in Health Professional Education from 2012 to 2015 and was a Public Health Service Primary Care Health Policy Fellow in Washington, DC, in 1997. Dr. Kellerman has been an editor of 13 editions of Conn’s Current Therapy (Elsevier) and three other books. He was the medical editor and moderator of the AAFP FP Audio program for 15 years. He has multiple publications and numerous presentations on both clinical and healthcare policy topics and is a frequent contributor to the media including national television interviews on ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, and MSNBC, as well as over 200 print media interviews with the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, USA Today, Newsweek, and other national periodicals. 

From 1982 to 1988, Dr. Kellerman worked in rural, solo practice in Plainville, Kansas. Between 1988 and 1996, he served as the program director of the KUSM-Wichita family medicine residency program at Smoky Hill-Salina. He has been the physician representative on the Kansas Hospital Association Board of Directors and a member of the American Hospital Association Region 6 Policy Board. Dr. Kellerman has also served as a trustee on the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation. 

Dr. Kellerman was the inaugural recipient of the Wichita Business Journal Health Care Heroes Award as an Educator. He was the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians Family Physician of the Year in 2015, the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation Philanthropist of the Year in 2014, and a Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Foundation “Bright Light” in 2019. In 2010, he received the AAFP President’s Award, the third past president of the AAFP to receive this recognition. In 2023, Dr. Kellerman received the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Lynn and Joan Carmichael Recognition Award. Dr. Kellerman has been recognized with the KUSM-Wichita Golden Chair Award and the inaugural Dean’s Excellence in Leadership Award. He was selected as a KUMC Graduation Marshal by medical students and was the inaugural Kansas Board of Regents Faculty Award recipient. He received the University of Kansas School of Medicine Jayhawk Award for Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring in 2015 and the University of Kansas Medical Center Women in Medicine and Science Trailblazer Award in 2016. In 2020, Dr. Kellerman received the inaugural KU School of Medicine Visionary Award for foresight, imagination, and leadership. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a comment

Back to Top