Editorial Review Group Chair: Luis Fernando Escobar, MD, MS
Editorial Review Group Chair
No Comments on Editorial Review Group Chair: Luis Fernando Escobar, MD, MS 756

Dr. Luis Fernando Escobar has been Editorial Review Group Chair in Clinical Genetics for Doody’s Review Service since 2005, serving far beyond the three-year term we request of our Chairs. Over the past 12 years, we have sent him 197 books, and he has personally reviewed 89 of the 93 books that were reviewed.

Dr. Escobar is currently the Medical Director of the Medical Genetics and Neurodevelopmental Center at Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital at St. Vincent Health Care Services. He is a medical geneticist, neonatologist and pediatrician, completing all of his training at Indiana University School of Medicine. He currently serves as the Chairman of the Indiana State Board of Health advisory committee in genomics and birth defects. In addition, he is the Pediatric Champion on early hearing detection and intervention program of the American Academy of Pediatrics, Indiana Chapter. His work on hearing loss has gained him the position of Pediatric Champion Liaison for District IV of the American Academy of Pediatrics. He is a Consultant for the Molecular and Clinical Genetics Panel of the Medical Devices Advisory Committee, Food and Drug Administration, Department of Health and Human Services of the United States.

Dr. Escobar’s primary clinical interests include neonatal-perinatal medicine, general pediatrics, clinical genetics, and dysmorphology. His research interests include craniofacial genetics, hypoxic-ischemic cell injury, and developmental pediatrics-newborn follow-up. He has authored several book chapters and journal articles in the area of medical genetics and neurodysfunction in genetic syndromes. He is a frequent speaker for different health provider groups, health organizations, and interest groups throughout the United States and outside North America.

Dr. Escobar is the recipient of the 2014 Virginia Wagner Memorial Award from the American Academy of Pediatrics, 2012 Indiana Minority Business & Professional Achievers Award, 2009 Edwin L Gresham Award – Advancing Care of Infants from the American Academy of Pediatrics, and the 1999 March of Dimes-Charlene Lugard Award. He also was the March of Dimes 2015 Medical Honoree.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a comment

Back to Top